My favorite Fall Treat

I love sweets… and I feel like fall kicks off the season of sweets leading up to the Holidays!

Often times, I feel like having dessert or sweets are the downfall of my normally healthy diet!

I go all day- eating healthy, using correct portions, and focusing on a well balanced meal- and then BOOM dessert rolls around and I binge eat on something at the end of the day!

I seriously LOVE these Dole Dippers as a 100 calorie dessert option, but often times I end up eating more than one little package of chocolate covered bananas or strawberries- and I still want “something else” to satisfy my sweet craving in the evening.

dippers

A new option I recently stumbled upon (thanks to Fall) is a delicious caramel covered apple.

One apple, dipped in caramel usually only runs you around 135-150 calories and can make you feel full for longer.

app

Why do apples make you feel full for longer? Well, apples contain Pectin, which is a soluble fiber, that upon digesting helps make you feel full for a longer time by absorbing water and expanding in your stomach. Pretty cool, right?

Pectin helps to slow down digested food as it moves through your small intestine and it also helps control the rate at which sugar is absorbed into your bloodstream. This can be helpful because it regulates your blood sugar level- no drop in blood sugar means no feeling hungry for no reason.

Since it is the Fall season, you can find caramel apples at your local grocery store and Target.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

